Published Date

November 18, 2019

The 2nd Maritime Homebrew Challenge presented by Gahan House presented over $5,000 in prizes this past Saturday at their annual awards ceremony. The largest prize up for grabs for the second year in a row was the opportunity to brew and package a homebrew for a limited edition release.
On November 9th, 2019 home brewers gathered at the Gahan House on Sydney Street in Charlottetown to hear who would be crowned the 2019 Maritime Home Brew Grand Champion. Lady Scotia Brewing’s Tingles Sichuan Stout took home first place. Chelsea Meisner of Charlottetown, PEI was thrilled about her placing. “One year ago when I was in Dublin, Ireland I was inspired by a beer I had a Guinness Open Gate Brewery. I had one taste and immediately knew I had to make my interpretation of it the second I got home. The result was Tingles Sichuan Stout. I wanted to make a full and rich bodied stout because I knew it would contrast but also compliment the unique flavour of the Sichuan Peppercorns. This is the perfect brew for the coming winter months. As you enjoy a glass of it, it begins to tingle and warm you from the inside out! 
I am beyond excited and honored to take home the Grand Champion Award! Homebrewing has always been a part of my life. My parents have been homebrewing for over 40 years and are the brewmasters that sparked my interest in brewing. It brings a very big smile to my face that the judges enjoyed Tingles and can't wait to brew at Gahan so everyone else can get a chance to enjoy what is one of my favourite beers I have brewed.” 

The 1st annual Maritime Homebrew Challenge produced D Rock’s Dunkel, homebrew from Derek Wood of Truro Nova Scotia. His brew was on shelves in PEI Brewing Company locations in early summer, 2019. Sponsors and supporters of the event were Murphy Hospitality Group, DME Process Systems, and East Coast Hoppers.
All 2019 winners:
Mixed/ Fermented Sours
5th – Berry Brett – Jean Marc Landry
4th – Wild Shenanigans – Jean Marc Landry & Julien Belliveau
3rd – Cherry & Pinot Noir – Geoff Walker
2nd – Sour Swagger – Pierre Gagnon
1st – Armadillo – Green Willy Collective (Jonathan Green, William Panting, Clayton Harding, Tyler Gallant)

5th – Hop Grenade – Derek Wood
4th – Shiloh Session – James MacEachern
3rd – Brett Rambo – Greg Rogers & Richard Cormier
2nd – Stunner Jones – Jean Marc Landry & Julien Belliveau
1st – Alien Barbarian – Eric Gautier
5th – Moka Moka Moka – Jeremy Slaunwhite
4th – All Day Breakfast Stout – Justin Clarke
3rd – Blackout – Mark McKay
2nd – Chocolate Eruption Sweet Stout – Aaron Boudreau
1st – Tingles Sichuan Stout – Lady Scotia Brewing (Chelsea Meisner)